My Sanctuary

As I walk along this stretch of deserted land
I lift my head and take in my surroundings.
There is nothing for miles
But somewhere far away
There’s an ocean.

After crossing many oceans
I have yet to swim through many more
Hoping I don’t drown.
Amidst all the assurance
There is still anxiety.

I imagine walking through distant lands
Reaching a place that maybe
I can call home
Like a nomad
Searching for a place in this world.

Lost for many decades
When suddenly I found myself
Through you.
I found the depths of my soul
Which reside in you.

You bring me to the brinks of
Conflict and peace
Anxiety and comfort
Despair and patience
Helplessness and hope
Sadness and happiness
Darkness and light.

I dream of a place with you
By your side
Near you.
Forever and eternity
I want to spend with you.

By your side will be
My sanctuary.

Leave a comment